The University of Jos Congregation has held a special meeting where 
members elected two Representatives into the 13th Governing Council of 
the University recently inaugurated by the Federal Government. 
The Congregation Representatives on the Governing Council are Dr. 
Christopher Piwuna of the Faculty of Medical Sciences and Mr. Yakubu 
Gomos of the Advancement Office who emerged victorious after the 
keenly contested exercise held at the University Multipurpose Auditorium. 
While congratulating the two winners following the election, the Vice-
Chancellor and Chairman of Congregation, Professor Seddi Sebastian 
Maimako invited them to attend the maiden meeting of the 13th 
Governing Council to be held at the end of June, 2017. Professor 
Maimako urged them to bring on board the vast experience they have 
garnered over the years for the benefit of the system. 
Dr Piwuna contested against Dr Monday Chaggok and Professor Ezekiel 
Best for the Teaching Staff category while Mr Yakubu Gomos came up 
against Mr Yakubu Eshaleku, Mr. Adeshina Akande and Engr. Istifanus 
Rwat Longs for the Non-Teaching Staff category.
The Vice-Chancellor enjoined the newly elected Council members to 
embrace their fellow contestants in order to tap from their wise counsel 
for the progress of the University. 
Dr Chris Piwuna is currently the Chairman, Academic Staff Union of 
Nigeria Universities (ASUU), University of Jos Branch, while Mr. Yakubu 
Gomos is the Executive Director, University of Jos Advancement Office.
Earlier, before the voting process commenced, the Registrar of the 
University, Mr. Monday Danjem cited the relevant sections of the 
University’s statutes regarding the Appointment of Members into the 
University Governing Council and also read out guidelines for the election 
towards ensuring a hitch free exercise.